TEF Center

TEF Center


Created in 1998 by the CCI Paris Ile-de-France, the Test d’évaluation de français (TEF) is an international reference test that measures a learner’s level of knowledge and skills in French. Test results are valid for two years.

In 2012, the IEF became an approved centre for TEF language tests.

The TEF is officially recognised by…

  • the Ministry of National Education
  • the Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation
  • the French Ministry of the Interior
  • the Ministry of Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship of Canada
  • the Quebec Ministry of Immigration, Francisation and Integration
  • the Swiss State Secretariat for Migration


The TEF comprises 5 tests:

  • Listening comprehension (Compréhension orale – CO)
  • Reading comprehension (Compréhension écrite – CE)
  • Oral expression (Expression orale – EO)
  • Written expression (Expression écrite – EE)
  • Lexicon and structure (Lexique et structure – LS)


The TEF is a modular test: there are several versions, depending on a candidates’ objectives and the administrative formalities they are looking to undertake.

  • TEF for naturalisation
  • TEF for residence permit
  • TEF for emigrating to Canada: Immigration/Citizenship
  • TEF for Access to Quebec (known as TEFAQ)

Other uses of the TEF (1 to 5 tests according to needs):

  • For studying
  • For recruitment
  • Placement test
  • Proficiency test

Since January 2020, all TEF sessions have been dematerialised, and are now paperless. The IEF regularly organises the following two TEF sessions.

  • TEF for Naturalisation with the following tests: CO – CE – EO – EE
  • TEF for studying with the following tests: CO – CE – EE – LS

For further information, please contact: ief@excelia-group.com